Google added new alerts to Gmail this week in order to improve the security of its users. The Gmail alerts  inform the users when Google can’t authenticate messages and when they contain dangerous URLs.

Gmail is now alerting users whenever they receive messages that can’t be authenticated with either Sender Policy Framework(SPF) or DKIM. The alert comes in the form of a question mark instead of the sender’s profile photo, corporate logo, or avatar.

Additionally, Google is alerting Web users when they click on a URL received via email if the link directs the user to a dangerous site known for phishing, malware, and Unwanted Software.

The warning is different from the unauthenticated message alert, which is available for Android users. The dangerous URL warning will appear when users access their Gmail account via a browser, Google says. The warnings that will appear when clicking on the link should be an extension of the Safe Browsing protection that is already available in various web browsers today.

Google Safe Browsing added protection against unwanted applications several months ago. Now both Chrome and Firefox users can take advantage of it. Google also expanded Safe Browsing to Chrome for Android, optimized Safe Browsing API for Mobile, and made improvements to the Safe Browsing Alerts for Network Administrators service.

The new alerts are launching to Rapid release now, but Google says that scheduled release is coming in 2 weeks. The feature will roll out gradually, thus taking longer than 3 days for it to become visible in some cases.

(More on cybersecurity)